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For assistance, please contact Kristin Olzacki-Owen in the Town Manager’s Office at (860) 258-2700. 

You may also contact the State Workers’ Compensation Commission at 1-800-223-9675. 

The Workers’ Compensation Act (Chapter 568 of the Connecticut General Statutes) was first enacted in 1913. 

There have been numerous changes to the Act since that time, but the main premise of the Act has always been 

to provide wage replacement and other benefits, as well as medical treatment, for those employees who have 

been injured, disabled, or killed while performing their jobs. The Act also sets up an administrative system to 

provide for workers’ compensation benefits by creating the Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC) as the 

agency to administer the provisions of the Act. 

Please utilize this as a guide for steps to follow for a workers’ compensation claim. Please refer to the State of 

Connecticut WCC for further information. Rocky Hill belongs to the eighth district located at 90 Court Street, 

Middletown, CT 06457. 

The State of Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission has an information packet which includes 

detailed information about the typical flow of a case as well as information on how to file a claim and an 

overview of the Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Please use the steps below as guidance during your work-related injury or illness: 
 

1. Employee experiences a work-related injury or illness. When an employee becomes injured or ill, he or she 

must go to an employer-designated physician. At any time while claiming or receiving workers’ 

compensation benefits, an employee may be directed by a Workers’ Compensation Commissioner, or 

requested by the employer or its workers’ compensation insurance carrier, to submit to an 

Employer/Respondent’s Examination. 

 

2. Supervisor completes First Report of Injury (FRI) and forwards the same to Kristin Olzacki-Owen at 

kolzacki@rockyhillct.gov. The FRI is filed with CIRMA and the State WCC office. 
 

3. Effective July 1, 2016, the State WCC office will send an information packet to the injured/ill 

employee, at his or her home, which includes Form 30C and directions on how to file a claim.  These 

directions must be strictly followed. The package also includes additional forms that must be sent 

directly to the insurance carrier (CIRMA). 

4. Effective July 1, 2016, the injured/ill employee must file a claim (Form 30C) with the Town Clerk’s office. 

(Note: the law allows the employee one year from the date of injury or three years from the first 

manifestation of a symptom of an occupational disease in which to do this.) 

5. Town Clerk files the Form 30C received from employee with CIRMA. 
 

6. CIRMA has a 28 day response time from Town Clerk’s receipt to assess compensability of the claim. The 

employer has this 28 day period in which to commence payment for lost time (if any) or deny the claim. 

http://wcc.state.ct.us/law/menus/wc-act-2015.htm
http://wcc.state.ct.us/
http://wcc.state.ct.us/download/acrobat/Info-Packet.pdf
mailto:kolzacki@rockyhillct.gov


During the time an employee is receiving benefits under workers’ compensation, Sec. 31-284b says that the 

injured workers employer must continue paying for their insurance(s). Section 31-290a of the Workers’ 

Compensation Act prohibits employers from discharging, or in any way discriminating against, any employee 

just because the employee has filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits or otherwise exercised his or 

her rights under the Act. 

Another helpful tool for employees is the pocket guide which provides detailed information on what to do and 

expect if you experience a work-related injury or illness. 

For assistance, please contact Kristin Olzacki-Owen in the Town Manager’s Office at (860) 258-2700. You 

may also contact the State Workers’ Compensation Commission at 1-800-223-9675. 

http://wcc.state.ct.us/download/acrobat/pocket-guide.pdf

